What is a bookmark?

I have been working at catching up on web 2.0 bookmarks that might have some impact in the classroom. I have been following some RSS feeds with del.icio.us/web2.0 the most prominent. I have also twittered about some of the more interesting ones to my friends and followers. I am beginning to notice that I am making a distinction between what I bookmark and what I twitter about. I am beginning to wonder what I really need to bookmark.

I am beginning to believe that bookmarks should only be for resources. College Degrees has a new post on getting more out of the Amazon Kindle. The link is a resource. It is a resource because it helps find other tools or resources that some one can use to do things with.

This story about students teaching students is not a resource in the same manner that the College Degrees article is. The article tells a story about reading strategies and the plan they developed. This is a resource because the plan is something that can be used. It is a resource because it spawns new ideas that would not otherwise be considered. It could also be called a topic.

I am beginning to believe that bookmarking shouldn’t be used for marking events. This article about the availability of Firefox 3.0 downloads seems more of an event. An event is like a news or social blog item rather than something to bookmark.

This article about the end of the XP era and whether Visa can step up appears to be an event. This is news because very soon the article will become irrelevant. So much so that I believe that is the intent of the article. It is an item to flare up some readers to comment. It is doing a find job as it has over 780 comments by the time I finished this post.

Should events be “bookmarked” differently from resources? Should they be “bookmarked” differently with the same bookmarking tool or a another one?

Our class is currently using diigo for our chief bookmarking
tool. We also use twitter. Can another service, like newsvine or maybe Digg, can effectively be used to “bookmark” events? What other tools could we use to more effectively?

The issue in the classroom is introducing another layer of complexity. Should I attempt to make a distinction between a resource and a bookmark? Can I do it in a way that my students can understand when I am not quite clear myself? Do I dare suggest another web 2.0 tool while they are just getting to know the ones I have already suggested? Is twitter enough?

I would appreciate your help and comments.

