Links and Things: ManyCam

ManyCam is a free webcam program that shares a webcam, desktop or other soruce to multiple applications. If you have ever wanted to show what is happening on your computers desktop while having a conversation on Skype, Ustream, Seesmic or other programs then ManyCam is what you are looking for.

From the ManyCam website:

“Use your webcam with multiple applications at the same time
and add cool graphics to your webcam video window.”

and

“What is ManyCam?

  • Use your webcam with multiple programs simultaneously.
  • Add text to your webcam video window with any application.
  • Add cool animations to your video window.
  • Show your local day and date in your video window.
  • Add live CGI graphics like fire and water effects. You can even make it appear as if it is snowing inside your house!”

The biggest feature that I have been looking for is displaying my desktop while I lecture. The classes I teach are all lab based and I teach using a projector. Showing what is happening on the desktop while I stream to Ustream is more important than looking at me or a whiteboard.

ManyCam is free and it is also cheap on resources. I have used WebCamMax and SplitCamera before and they tend to max out my processor (100% CPU) causing other programs to crash or lock up the desktop entirely. ManyCam has yet to give me any issues and uses less than 10% of the CPU. I use VMWare workstation for all of my labs and with 3 or 4 vitual machines tugging at my RAM and CPU I just don’t have the resources to spare.

Check it out. Even if you don’t need to show your desktop it can do some other cool nifty neeto things.

